Rugby America

Rugby News & Views From an American Perspective

RSL Week 7 Prediction Time

It’s that time again. It’s time for me to try to play psychic and foresee what clubs will come out on top of their Week 7 matches in the USA Rugby Super League. Poor Week 6 predictions have left my record at 10-7 (Note: I didn’t start predicting matches until Week 5). I need a nice rebound weekend, but the matches don’t get any easier to call. Hell, I think they may be even harder to predict this weekend than last. Throw in the fact that many of the clubs are battling for their playoff lives and anything can happen.

That said… here goes.

Belmont Shore @ Santa Monica: Belmont Shore rebounds from last week’s loss to SFGG
Denver @ OMBAC: Since the return of their 7’s stars OMBAC has yet to be tested. Denver will give them that test this weekend, but I’m going with OMBAC in a close one.
Old Puget Sound Beach @ San Francisco Golden Gate: SFGG is as hot as any club in the RSL right now and should win this one easily.
Chicago Lions @ Washington: Lions… hopefully by not more than 60 for Washington’s sake.
Philly-Whitemarsh @ NYAC: NYAC rolls easily in this one and clinches a playoff birth.
Boston Irish Wolfhounds @ Dallas: Tough one to call, with a lot on the line as both clubs have a shot at the playoffs. Wolfhounds win a hotly contested match.
Old Blue @ PAC: I’ve been pulling for Old Blue to get in the win column, so I’m going to stick with them this week to win.
St. Louis @ Boston: Wow, Boston… what a story. I look for them to stay at the top of the Blue Conference and clinch a playoff spot with a close win over St. Louis.
Charlotte @ Chicago Griffins: Charlotte went from being in the driver’s seat to looking in the rearview mirror all within one week. I like both of these squads, but the Griffins have played very well at home this season. I think the Griffins will pull out a close one.

Tough calls though, I could have went with the other club in a few of the contests.

I wish the best of luck to all of the clubs playing this weekend. That goes for everyone from RSL all the way down to the HS kids playing. I’ve been pretty engrossed in covering the RSL stuff, because I think they need all the promotion and coverage they can get. But I need to start showing some love to the other levels of rugby in the USA. Expect more grassroots coverage to go along with coverage of the RSL and Eagles in the future.

2 comments on “RSL Week 7 Prediction Time

  1. Anonymous
    April 24, 2008

    Go Charlotte!

  2. Anonymous
    April 24, 2008

    Enjoy your blogging, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2008 by in Rugby News.
