Rugby America

Rugby News & Views From an American Perspective

Updated NSCRO Playoff Picture

This Fall, 135 NSCRO-eligible teams began competing for the NSCRO Division 3 Men’s Collegiate National Championship. The culimnation of their hard work pays off at the NSCRO Championship hosted by the Norfolk Blues RFC at the Virginia Beach Sportsplex Stadium in Virginia Beach, Virginia on April 30-May 1, 2011.

For 2010-11, NSCRO has added the Western Conference providing the opportunity for participation by small colleges from the Great Plains, Heart of America, Texas, Southern California and Minnesota Rugby Unions.

As a result, two of the other three conferences – Southern Conference and the New York-Penn Conference – had to be restructured to provide four total conferences of similar number of teams within close geographic proximity as possible. 

 The New England Conference with 32 clubs playing seven league matches was left untouched. Salve Regina University won the New England conference finishing with a 10-0 won-loss record.

Here are the current playoff results and schedule for each of the four (4) Conferences.

Region 1 – New England Conference (32 eligible teams)
Final: Salve Regina University 53 – Springfield College 21
Salve Regina goes to National Championship (April 30-May 1) in Virginia Beach, VA

Region 2 – Western Conference (28 eligible teams)
Quarterfinal: Wayne State College (Great Plains) 29 – Benedictine College (Heart of America) 17
Minnesota RU Representative: North Dakota State University
Regional Championship: April 2-3 at Wayne State College in Wayne, Nebraska
  Wayne State vs. Texas RU Champion
  North Dakota State vs. Southern California RFU Champion
Winner goes to National Championship (April 30-May 1) in Virginia Beach, VA

Region 3 – Southern Conference (41 eligible teams)
 Semifinal: Longwood University (Virginia) vs. Mt. St. Mary’s College (Potomac) on April 2 at Longwood University in Farmville, VA
 Semifinal: USA Rugby South Div 3 Championship match on April 3 at a location TBD
Regional Final: USARS Champion vs. Longwood/Mt. St. Mary’s winner on April 16 in Knoxville, TN
Winner goes to National Championship (April 30-May 1) in Virginia Beach, VA

Region 4 – New York-Penn Conference (34 eligible teams)
 Ithaca College (New York State) 31 – Franciscan University (Allegheny) 0
 The College of New Jersey (East Penn) 36 – Molloy College (Met NY) 8
Regional Final: Ithaca vs. TCNJ on April 9 at TCNJ in Ewing, NJ
Winner goes to National Championship (April 30-May 1) in Virginia Beach, VA

For additional information, visit NSCRO website at


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on December 9, 2010 by in College Rugby.
%d bloggers like this: