Rugby America

Rugby News & Views From an American Perspective

Rugby America: Jumping the Gun

It’s been a few weeks since I took down what most had come to know as Rugby America. It was a very nice site both visually and in terms of content. Unfortunately, the amount of effort I could put into the site was well below the lofty standards I had envisioned.

After talking with some valued and respected peers in the last couple of weeks, I have come to realize that “scrubbing” the online presence of Rugby America was not for the best. Even though I have kept up appearances via Twitter and Facebook, not having the content available online in some form was wrong. After all, in the four years since the launch of Rugby America, I had posted somewhere in the neighborhood of 800 articles, some of which were very near and dear to my heart.

That and the hooks of rugby are dug deep into my being and soul. This game is very special to me and whether I like it or not, I have become a part of a larger community of rugby enthusiasts that take our love for the sport beyond screaming at a TV screen or reading news. We write, we share, and we help spread the word of rugby across the globe.

To rectify my mistake, I have returned Rugby America to the format in which it existed prior to what you have come to know. Yes. It is a very simple page, but the content from the past four years is all there for fans, old and new, to experience.

There is no doubt that this format will not touch the number of people that it did before, but it is ok. Without having over 100,000 people hitting my site on a monthly basis, I won’t feel bad when I fail to produce daily or even weekly content. My favorite articles to write were always editorials which were far less frequent, but easily more personal to me than passing along the same press releases that could be found on other sites. Editorials were also the most read and commented upon articles on the site which is probably no coincidence.

So, here you go. Rugby America is back… sort of. We’ll see where it goes from here. There are some exciting things swirling around and if I’ve learned anything in the past five years… you never know what to expect.

2 comments on “Rugby America: Jumping the Gun

  1. Matt
    January 5, 2012

    welcome back

  2. nicolas
    January 5, 2012

    happy to have the site back!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2012 by in Rugby News.
